100 candidates compete on nine quota seats

Omer Sabir - Kirkuk Now More than 20 alliances and political blocs compete with 100 candidates for nine quota seats at the parliamentary elections of Iraq, set to be held on 12 May 2018. According to the Iraqi parliamentary election law, the upcoming parliament will consist of 329 seats, 320 of them already distributed over the provinces, while remaining nine seats are allocated in accordance with the quota system, five for Christians, while Sabians, Yazidis, Shabak, and Failis each have one seat allocated to them. Christians: Seven entity with 68 candidates Having majority of quota seats, Christians compete through three alliances and four political entities, and they have 68 candidates to win their quota seats. The alliances are consisted of People’s Chaldean, Syriac and Assyrian Council, Syriac Gathering Movement, and Babelion Movement. The four political entities are Nahrain Sons, which is consisted of National Beit Nahrain Union, Chaldean and Assyrian Organization, Communist Party, Warka List, and Democratic Beit Nahrain party. Chaldean Alliance, which is consisted of National Chaldean Council, Democratic Chaldean Union and Chaldean Union. Along with Democratic Alliance Movement of Assyrians and National Party of Assyrians.

Kirkuk, the major Christian church in Kirkuk. Photo: Karwan Salhi
Allocated five seats for Christians are in the provinces of Erbil, Duhok, Kirkuk, Nainawa and Baghdad. Sabians; six candidates for one seat Iraqi election law has allocated one seat for Sabians in Baghdad province, as their quota share. No alliance or political bloc has been registered to compete on the seat, but six candidates have registered themselves as individual entities to compete on the seat.  The candidates, all in Baghdad, are Salam Na’em Atiya, Naufl Nashi, Rahim Lu’aibi, Raad Jabar, Lamia Shawi and Hars Shanshil. Sabian is considered as the oldest religion in Mesopotamia, more specifically in Ur city south of Iraq and the marshlands. Its followers have numerous ceremonies, rituals and independent norms. Failis; 12 candidates compete for one seat For Iraq’s parliamentary election this year, Failis have one quota seat in Wasit province, while they did not have that in the past. Three alliances and political entities, consisted of Faili Front, Faili Union Gathering, Iraqi Faili Alliance, with six independent candidates, compete on that one quota seat. The total number of candidates runs into 12, all of them running in Wasit province. Shabak; five candidates for one seat The Shabak component has one quota seat in Ninawa province, for which several entities and individuals compete. The entities and individuals are Ahrar Shabak Movement, Qusai Abbas, Salih Muhammad, Saad Salim Sultan, with five candidates for the same seat. Despite that, Shabak Democratic Gathering have joined the Fatih Alliance with two candidates in Ninawa province, intending to gain further parliamentary seats outside the quota system. Shabaks are a component of Iraq, mostly living in Ninawa between the Kurdistan region and Mosul city. Yazidis; six candidates compete on one quota seat
Sheikhan 17 April 2018, Red Wednesday ceremony of Yezidis in Lalish temple. Photo: Muhannad Sinjari.
Yazidis, mostly living in Ninawa province, have one quota seat in the province while several blocs and entities compete to win it. The entities and blocs are Yazidi Movement for Reform and Progress, Yazidi Progress Party, Liberty and Democracy Party of Yazidis, with six candidates to the seat determined by them. Outside the framework of the quota system, Democratic Yazidi Party has registered as an ordinary party in Ninawa province, with 16 candidates to compete on the 31 seats of the province.

  • FB
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YT